All Good Things Come To An End.

The short version: I am making an important change to how I conduct business going forward. As of today (Oct 6, 2023) I am asking that customers pay up-front for tools when they place their order.

The longer version.. I started buying and selling tools 23 years ago on the OldTools email list. Back then everyone sold tools using “Standard OldTools Terms” which meant sending the item first, then receiving payment. It’s a wonderful system and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the ease and convenience it offers for both me as a seller, and you as the buyer. In my first 20 years of business I only had a small handful of people (less than 10 in 20,000+ transactions, yes I keep a list) not pay the invoice I send along with the tools. I assumed it worked because people who buy old tools want to buy more tools so they pay their invoices.

Then something changed. I can’t tell you what it was, nor do I want to speculate. In the past three years I’ve had a surprising number of customers, both old and new, not pay invoices. I’m also constantly chasing a small number of people who are consistently 90+ days late on paying. This came to a head this week as I gave up and wrote-off the invoices that are 180+ days overdue. I calculated the loss and it’s substantial.. Like close to half of the profit I’ll make this year. I don’t make a huge profit from this business. In fact, if I calculated my profit and divided it by the time spent to make that profit.. well I’d probably be pretty sad and likely in violation of my state’s minimum wage laws. I’m trying to keep things in perspective and look at the upside. I absolutely love this job. There are definitely worse ways to make a second income and keep the bills paid. I enjoy interacting with every one of you and thoroughly enjoy hearing what you are up to in the shop, around the garden, or just how the weather is this season.

I’ve updated my ordering instructions to reflect this change. In short, I will now send an invoice once you place an order. You’ll have 14 days to pay it after which I’ll put the tools back on the list. Once I receive payment I’ll ship tools within 24 hours (except for weekend, of course). Returns will still be accepted and encouraged with no questions asked.

So, I’m sorry it’s come to this. The vast majority of you pay on-time and without fuss. I really appreciate your loyalty and integrity. As always, it’s the few that ruin it for the majority. I appreciate your understanding. I’m happy to discuss if you have any questions. You can email me or leave a comment below.

Thanks for your support,

Josh

14 thoughts on “All Good Things Come To An End.

  1. It’s a shame you’ve been burned Josh. You have been so kind and such a great resource for our collections. I hope this will get your profits back on track and you will stay as busy as you want to be.
    Thank you for all you do,
    Erik

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Josh, it is a pleasure to buy tools from you and I intend to continue to do so. I completely understand your decision. I am excited to check your site and even more excited when I see the package arrive. I know I’m getting what is described, safely packed, from a great small business operator. I Enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Josh, very sorry to hear that people have taken advantage of your trust, and screwed with a system that has worked for you for so long. Hopefully this change will give you some peace of mind. Just like the commenters above, I’m happy to pay upfront, and look forward to my next order from you. Have a good weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Josh,
    I am sorry to here of the bad apples who “forgot” to pay. I have no trouble paying first then receiving the high quality tools you provide. Thank you for all the work it takes to make Hyperkitten happen.
    Cheers
    Will

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Josh, I am good with your new terms of sales. I’ve bought a number of things from you and I am always satisfied with your products and services. Jim Bonine

    Like

  6. Sorry to hear of the bad customers. I have only purchased a few items but have been impressed by your honesty, knowledge, and willingness to help. Finding people you trust means a lot, especially these days, which is why I check your page so often for things I am looking for. Those of us who recognize an asset to the community will do whatever you ask to keep this going as long as you enjoy it and it works for your family.

    Like

  7. I’m happy to pay up front to keep you in business. I’m disappointed in the fellow tool collectors who have failed to pay up their commitments.

    Jim

    Like

Leave a comment